May Prayer

IMG_0921

When I was a little girl,

I went to a Unitarian Universalist Sunday School

My father was on the vestry.

I also went to a parochial school

all week.

Mass every day, High Mass on Wednesdays.

I loved both schools.

When i was a little kid,

one of my Godfathers was Japanese.

He translated ancient Chinese and ancient Japanese,

and we made dolls together,

and i learned to sit still on round cushions.

and every May,

my mother and i made May baskets from all the flowers in our yards.

and we danced May poles together

and ate fairy pudding from her grandmother’s recipe.

When i was a little girl we moved.

i ended up at at a county public school

that sent me out of the classroom

with the ‘jewboy’ to sit in the hallway,

every morning,

while they read Bible stories.

every morning.

and you ask me why i am opposed to a national day of prayer?

Because my forefathers and mothers were here before you were,

because my forefathers and mothers fought in the American revolution,

because my forefathers and mothers were from different places with different faiths,

because i know we, every one of us, is sacred.

that is why.

and because i am loved, and i love you.

so today, this is what i pray:

All Creation is a basket of Diversity,

May I bloom where I find my roots nourished,

May I reach for the light that sustains me –

 

All Creation is a basket of Diversity,

May you bloom where you find your roots nourished,

May you reach for the light that sustains you –

 

All Creation is a basket of Diversity,

May we bloom where we find our roots nourished,

May we reach for the light that sustains us  –

And 

May we give thanks ,

as we evolve together.

IMG_0925

About eteal

Reverend Teal is a minister, chaplain, artist and storyteller. She specializes in the human-animal bond and all its healing aspects.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

