Blessed

Today, I was blessed.

I was called to a woman’s bedside today. 

“I’m dying.”  she said.

“Yes.” I replied softly.

We sat there for a while in silent listening. No other words were spoken.

She reached her hand up a bit and I took it in mine. We sat there together, holding hands.

“Thank you so much for coming.” she said.

I smiled.  She smiled.  We sat.

She carefully, slowly reached her hand up and placed it on my heart.

“You are so kind.” she said as she held her hand there for a while.

It gently dropped into her lap as she fell asleep.

The room was full of golden light.

They may have thought they called me to bless the dying. 

But instead, I was blessed.  We can bless each other, daily.  Please do.

Thank you, bless you, you are loved.

About eteal

Reverend Teal is a minister, chaplain, artist and storyteller. She specializes in the human-animal bond and all its healing aspects.
This entry was posted in Blessings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

